Summary#
SB-1203 would amend the Michigan Vehicle Code, including its graduated driver licensing rules. It would raise the minimum age for a Level 1 license and change the training required before a teen can get one; its stated goal is not provided in the supplied material.
- The minimum age for Level 1 would rise from 14 years and 9 months to 15 years and 9 months.
- Instead of completing Segment 1 of driver education before getting Level 1, an applicant would have to be enrolled in a driver education course and complete at least six hours of on-the-road driving with an instructor.
- The bill also makes wording changes to licensing provisions in section 309. The supplied text does not show which changes there are new, so their effect cannot be confirmed.
- The bill would take effect only if SB-1204 also becomes law. It has been introduced and referred to committee; it is not law.
What it means for you#
- Teens and families: A teen could not get Level 1 until age 15 years and 9 months, and would need the required course enrollment and six instructor-led driving hours.
- Driver education providers and instructors: The new Level 1 requirement would make instructor-led driving hours part of eligibility. The bill does not set a fee or say who pays.
- Teens seeking Level 2: The listed requirements, including completing Segment 2, remain in the bill. It does not appear to change the Level 2 passenger, nighttime, or driving-record rules.
- Other drivers: The bill does not directly change ordinary license eligibility for other drivers in the supplied text.
Money#
No publicly available information on estimated public cost, household costs, or provider costs.
- The bill does not state a public appropriation, fee, or payment for the required training.
- Families may face costs for instructor-led driving hours, but the bill does not say whether those hours are included in course fees or what they cost.
What is unclear#
- SB-1204 is not included in the supplied material, so its effect and how it relates to this bill are unknown.
- The bill does not state a start date.
- It does not explain how course enrollment would be confirmed or when the six driving hours must be completed.
- It does not say who must provide or pay for the six hours, or whether enough instructors will be available.
- The supplied text does not include the current version of section 309 for comparison, so the effect of those wording changes cannot be verified.
Case for#
- A possible argument for the bill is that teens would begin supervised driving later, at a higher minimum age.
- Requiring six hours of driving with an instructor before Level 1 could give applicants guided practice before they begin driving with a family member or other supervising adult.
- Requiring course enrollment may connect early driving practice with formal driver education.
Case against#
- Raising the minimum age by a year could delay when teens can begin supervised driving.
- The bill does not explain why six instructor-led hours, rather than another amount or type of training, is the right requirement.
- If the hours cost extra or are hard to access, some families could face a barrier to getting Level 1 sooner; the bill does not address cost or availability.
- The bill’s effect depends on SB-1204 also becoming law, but that bill’s contents are not available here.