Summary#
Idaho House Bill 978 is an FY2027 appropriation law for the Department of Health and Welfare. It adds money for specified Public Health Services Division programs, cuts other program appropriations, reduces authorized staff positions, and requires reports. Its stated purpose is to provide funding for the listed programs and set conditions on that funding.
- The law adds $35,623,800 for the division: $35,326,400 for Physical Health Services, $278,400 for Laboratory Services, and $19,000 for Suicide Prevention and Awareness.
- It cuts $78,400 from the Laboratory Services Program and $478,600 from the Health Care Policy Initiatives Program.
- It reduces the division’s authorized full-time-equivalent positions by 3 for FY2027.
- By December 31, 2026, the department must report on outcomes and return on investment for suicide prevention, HIV prevention and surveillance, and hepatitis prevention and surveillance. It must also report on vaccine use and cost savings linked to the Immunization Assessment Fund.
- The department must compile a report from public health districts on the documented immigration status of people using HIV prevention services.
What it means for you#
- Department of Health and Welfare: It must use the added appropriations for the designated programs and submit the required reports to the Joint Finance-Appropriations Committee. The law does not set out what action must follow from those reports.
- Public health districts: They must join the department’s HIV program outcomes and return-on-investment report. The department must also compile information from the districts on documented immigration status among people using HIV prevention services.
- People using HIV prevention services: The law requires a report about documented immigration status, but it does not explicitly require individuals to disclose their status or change their eligibility for services.
- Taxpayers and service providers: The law requires a report analyzing vaccine-related cost savings for the state and service providers. It does not guarantee that savings will occur.
Money#
The law authorizes $35,623,800 in additional FY2027 appropriations and cuts $557,000 from two other appropriations; the net change in the amounts shown is an increase of $35,066,800.
- The added appropriations come from the funds listed for each program in the bill. The cuts also apply to specified funds and expense categories.
- The law reduces authorized staffing by 3 full-time-equivalent positions. It does not state the resulting staffing or savings.
- No publicly available information is provided on the cost of preparing the required reports or on estimated actual spending.
What is unclear#
- The law does not define how “outcomes” or “return on investment” should be measured.
- It does not specify how immigration-status information is to be collected, what categories the report will use, or what privacy protections apply.
- It does not say whether the reports will be public or what the department must do if reported results are poor.
- It does not identify which positions are affected by the three-position reduction or explain how the cuts will affect services.
Case for#
- The reports could give lawmakers information on program results and how public money is being used.
- The vaccine-use and cost-savings analysis could help the state and service providers assess purchases made through the Immunization Assessment Fund.
- The law specifies the funding and staffing changes for FY2027 rather than leaving those amounts unstated.
Case against#
- The law requires reports but does not set measures for success or require a response to the findings, so the reports may not lead to changes.
- Reporting documented immigration status without spelling out collection and privacy rules leaves important safeguards unclear.
- The staffing reduction and cuts to laboratory and health policy programs could affect their work, but the law does not explain the likely effects.