Lawmakers expand loan relief for English learners

Summary#

The Supporting Providers of English Language Learning Act (SPELL Act) would amend the Higher Education Act of 1965. Its stated goal is to provide additional loan forgiveness or cancellation for certain teachers of English learners, bilingual students, and dual language immersion students. The bill has been introduced and referred to committee; it is not law.

  • It would add qualifying English learner, bilingual, and dual language immersion teachers to two existing teacher loan-relief provisions: loan forgiveness under section 428J and loan cancellation under section 460.
  • A teacher would still have to meet the existing requirements in subsection (b) of the relevant provision.
  • For English learner teachers, teaching those learners must be the teacher’s primary responsibility. For both groups, the teacher must teach students who match their training and demonstrate knowledge and teaching skills in the curriculum areas they teach.
  • The school’s chief administrative officer must certify those qualifications. If the teacher works for an educational service agency, that agency’s chief administrative officer must certify them.
  • The changes would take effect when the bill becomes law and apply to people eligible for the relevant relief after that date.

What it means for you#

  • Eligible teachers: If you teach English learners as your primary responsibility, or teach bilingual or dual language immersion students, the bill could make you eligible for these forms of loan relief—if you also meet the existing requirements and certification conditions.
  • Schools and educational service agencies: Their chief administrative officers would have to certify the specified teaching and skill requirements for an employee seeking the relief.
  • Other borrowers and teachers: The bill does not directly change other loan programs or make every teacher eligible. It adds these teacher categories to the two named provisions.
  • Borrowers and the public: The supplied bill text does not state the amount of relief or provide a process for applying.

Money#

No cost information is in the available material.

  • The bill would expand eligibility for two existing forms of federal loan relief, but gives no estimate of federal costs, expected claims, or affected borrowers.
  • It does not state a new loan-relief amount, appropriate money, or specify staffing or administrative costs.

What is unclear#

  • The supplied material does not include the full Higher Education Act, so the existing eligibility rules, loan types, relief amounts, and other conditions in subsection (b) could not be verified.
  • The bill does not explain how administrators should assess whether students “correspond with” a teacher’s training or how to assess the required knowledge and teaching skills.
  • It does not set out certification forms, timelines, review or appeal steps, or oversight for these new certifications.
  • The bill uses the Elementary and Secondary Education Act’s definition of “English learner,” but that definition is not included in the supplied material.
  • The material does not say how many teachers might qualify or what the federal cost might be.

Case for#

  • A possible argument for the bill is that teachers serving English learners and bilingual or dual language immersion students would be recognized in two existing teacher loan-relief provisions.
  • The bill ties eligibility to relevant training and demonstrated teaching knowledge, which could help target relief to teachers serving those students.
  • Adding categories to existing provisions may use an existing legal structure rather than creating a separate loan-relief program.

Case against#

  • One concern is that the bill does not state how much relief these teachers could receive or how much the expanded eligibility could cost.
  • The certification conditions could be applied differently across schools or agencies; the bill does not add standards for making or challenging those certifications.
  • It is unclear how the new eligibility category would interact with the existing requirements, because the supplied material does not include the full rules for either loan-relief provision.