Education grants would fund teacher residency programs

Summary#

The PREP Act of 2026 would amend the Higher Education Act of 1965. It would replace that Act’s Title II on teacher and school-leader preparation and change several institutional-aid provisions. Its stated goal is to improve student achievement by improving educator preparation and development; the bill does not guarantee that result.

  • The Education Secretary could award competitive five-year grants to partnerships that include a state education agency, a high-need school system or program, and a qualifying higher-education institution. Grantees would provide a 100% non-federal match unless the Secretary waives some or all of it.
  • Grants could support teacher preparation, year-long clinical placements or residencies, “Grow Your Own” pathways, school-leader preparation, mentoring and early-childhood educator preparation. A 10% share of appropriated Title II funds would be reserved for state education agencies, with the same allocation for each state agency.
  • Residency grants would require a one-year living stipend or salary for residents. Recipients would agree to teach for at least three academic years in a high-need school and subject area; those who do not complete that service would generally have to repay the stipend or salary, with interest.
  • The bill would require annual public reporting by covered educator-preparation programs and states. States receiving funds would assess programs and publish lists of low-performing programs; certain consequences could follow if a state withdraws a program’s approval or financial support.
  • The bill would make teacher- and school-leader preparation programs eligible uses of several existing institutional-aid programs. It would also authorize $265 million annually from fiscal year 2027 for a program supporting historically Black colleges and other minority-serving institutions. These are authorizations, not guaranteed payments.

What it means for you#

  • Prospective teachers and school leaders: You would not automatically receive a grant or stipend. If you enter a funded residency, you would receive a one-year stipend or salary but agree to the three-year teaching commitment and possible repayment terms.
  • Teacher candidates in “Grow Your Own” programs: Funded programs would have to offer financial aid in addition to Title IV aid and provide academic, counseling and program support. The bill does not guarantee that every candidate would receive aid.
  • Colleges and other preparation programs: Those receiving grants would have program requirements, evaluation duties and annual reporting duties. Covered institutions that fail to report timely and accurately could face a fine of up to $27,500.
  • States and school systems: States receiving funds would have to assess preparation programs and publish annual information. Grant partnerships would have to consult regularly, and changes to grant activities would require written consent from every partnership member and the Secretary’s approval.
  • Students at certain low-performing programs: If a state withdraws a program’s approval or ends its financial support because of low performance, the program would lose eligibility for Department of Education professional-development funding. It would have to notify students and provide transitional support; it may also be barred from enrolling students receiving Title IV aid.
  • The public: The bill does not create a guaranteed federal benefit for all teachers, candidates or schools, and it does not directly change K–12 curriculum or teacher certification rules nationwide.

Money#

No cost estimate is included; the bill authorizes appropriations for its grant programs but does not set a total dollar amount for them.

  • Title II grants would require a non-federal match equal to the grant, unless waived. Grantees could use no more than 2% of grant funds for administration.
  • The bill would reserve 10% of appropriated Title II funds for state administrative and leadership activities. It authorizes “such sums as may be necessary” for Title II and for the centers of excellence program; that does not itself provide the money.
  • The bill authorizes $265 million annually, starting in fiscal year 2027, for the specified historically Black college and minority-serving institution program, with related allocation amounts revised. Actual appropriations are not stated.
  • No publicly available information. on the likely total federal, state, college or school-system costs, including staffing and administration.

What is unclear#

  • The Higher Education Act itself was not supplied, so I could not verify what already exists under current law or precisely what this replacement would change in practice.
  • No publicly available information. on how much Congress would appropriate, how many grants would be awarded, or their likely size beyond the stated minimum of $500,000 for centers of excellence.
  • The bill leaves some standards, including what counts as a “high percentage” of teachers or shortage positions, to be determined or applied by states. Grant application details and some program rules would be set later by the Secretary or partnerships.
  • The bill does not set a start date for the new Title II programs or explain how they would coordinate with overlapping federal, state or local programs.
  • The bill allows repayment terms and interest rates for residency stipends to be set by the partnership; it does not specify a standard rate or detailed appeal process.

Case for#

  • The bill appears intended to address shortages and turnover by linking educator preparation more closely to high-need schools and local hiring needs.
  • A possible argument for year-long clinical placements, mentoring and induction is that new educators would get supported practice before and during their early years on the job.
  • Competitive grants could help build different pathways into teaching and school leadership, including community-college partnerships and programs that recruit career changers.
  • Public reporting and state assessments could give students and the public more information about preparation programs and their results.

Case against#

  • The matching requirement could make it harder for some partnerships to take part, even though the Secretary could waive it for serious hardship or inability to carry out the work.
  • A three-year service commitment and repayment with interest could place a financial burden on residents who cannot complete their service; repayment exceptions and deferrals are left largely to partnerships.
  • The bill requires extensive data collection and reporting, but does not provide a cost estimate or specify how the added work would be funded.
  • State-led assessments could produce different standards across states. The bill bars the Secretary from requiring a specific state method, so program ratings may not be directly comparable.