Summary#
The Veteran Technology Employment Success Act of 2026 would amend section 3699C of title 38, United States Code. Its stated goal is to improve how the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) calculates and reports employment rates for the VET TEC high technology program. It is an introduced bill, not law; the supplied material does not include the existing section, so I could not verify all current requirements.
- VA would calculate the employment rate using program completers and whether they are employed 180 days after completing the program.
- The rate would not count graduates employed by their program provider, or by its parent or affiliate as instructors for a substantially similar program.
- VA would have to make its report on the program available to the public, as well as send it to the Senate and House Veterans’ Affairs committees.
- To the maximum extent practicable, VA would also report rates of full-time employment, part-time employment, and self-employment.
- VA would have to regularly collect and analyze feedback from program participants and the GI Bill School Feedback Tool, and use it to evaluate and improve the program.
What it means for you#
- Veterans who completed VET TEC: The bill changes how VA counts employment for the program’s reported rate. It does not require graduates to apply for anything, and it does not itself provide jobs or change eligibility for the program.
- VA: VA would have to use the specified 180-day measure, exclude the specified provider-related jobs from the rate’s numerator, publish its report, and carry out the feedback duties.
- The public: The program report would have to be publicly available. The bill does not set out what information the report must contain beyond the employment-rate measures described.
- Employers and training providers: The bill does not directly change their duties or impose a fee or penalty.
Money#
No publicly available information on the bill’s estimated cost.
- VA would have to carry out reporting and feedback work, but the bill gives no staffing estimate, cost estimate, or separate funding amount.
- The bill does not specify a fee, tax, fine, or new benefit.
What is unclear#
- The existing text of section 3699C was not supplied, so how the bill changes the current calculation and reporting requirements could not be fully checked.
- The bill does not define “covered individuals” or “substantially similar program” in the supplied text.
- It does not specify how VA must determine employment status or collect and verify employment information.
- It does not set out how feedback will be gathered, analyzed, or used, or what information will be made public.
- The bill does not state when its requirements would start or how much VA would spend to carry them out.
Case for#
- A possible argument for the bill is that a clear 180-day measure would make the reported employment rate easier to interpret.
- Excluding graduates hired by their training provider in specified roles could help distinguish other employment outcomes from jobs tied to the training program itself.
- Public reporting could make the program’s reported outcomes more accessible.
- Ongoing feedback could give VA information to use when evaluating and improving the program.
Case against#
- The 180-day measure is a snapshot. It does not show whether a job lasts, how many hours it involves, or what it pays.
- The required exclusion could leave out genuine employment by a provider or a related organization, which may make the reported rate lower than a count of all employed graduates.
- VA must report full-time, part-time, and self-employment rates only to the maximum extent practicable; the bill does not require those figures in every case.
- The bill does not specify how VA will verify employment or use feedback, making the resulting measures and improvements hard to assess from the bill alone.