City increases franchise fee targets for 2027

Summary#

Calgary City Council adopted directions for refining proposals in the 2027–2030 budget cycle. It also raised the revenue target for ATCO Franchise Fees by $25 million in 2027 and directed City staff to study a possible change in fee methodology. This is budget-planning direction, not approval of the full 2027–2030 budget.

  • City staff must use the preliminary information and approach in the confidential report to refine and prioritize budget proposals for later consideration.
  • City staff must increase the annual revenue targets for ENMAX Local Access Fees and ATCO Franchise Fees by estimated growth, and increase ATCO’s target by a further $25 million in 2027.
  • City staff must report to Council in December 2026 on the analysis and impacts of changing the current franchise fee methodology to the Distribution Tariff methodology.
  • The confidential report and related material remain confidential until a review no later than December 31, 2026. They may be shared with Business Planning–Finance, and with City staff and Calgary Police Service only where required.

What it means for you#

  • People and businesses: The decision does not itself set a fee rate or say how much any person or business will pay. The effect of the higher revenue targets on charges is not stated.
  • City staff: They must refine and prioritize budget proposals, meet the revenue-target directions, and prepare the December report.
  • Council: It will consider the staff analysis of a possible change in methodology and further budget proposals later in the cycle.

Money#

The decision raises a revenue target, but the materials do not estimate its effect on actual revenue or charges.

  • ATCO Franchise Fees’ target revenue is to increase by $25 million in 2027, in addition to an increase based on estimated growth each year.
  • ENMAX Local Access Fees’ target revenue is to increase each year by estimated growth.
  • No cost estimate or estimate of the effects on customers is available.

What is unclear#

  • The confidential report and attachments are not provided, so the preliminary budget approach and proposals cannot be assessed.
  • The decision does not explain how the fee revenue targets translate, if at all, into rates or charges paid by customers.
  • It does not specify the amount of estimated growth, or the dollar value of the annual target increases.
  • The December report must analyze a possible methodology change; the decision does not make that change.

Case for#

  • A possible argument for setting annual targets based on estimated growth is that the targets would account for growth rather than stay fixed.
  • The additional $25 million ATCO target gives City staff a specific revenue-planning direction for 2027.
  • Council asked for an analysis of the alternative fee methodology before deciding whether to change it.

Case against#

  • A higher revenue target could lead to higher charges, but the decision does not explain whether that would happen or who might pay more.
  • Councillors Ward, Wyness and Johnston voted against the fee-target direction. The minutes do not give their reasons.
  • Because the underlying budget information is confidential, the public cannot assess the proposals being prioritized or the basis for the revenue targets.

Votes

Calgary City Council, item 12.2.1 (May 26 Update on the 2027-2030 Budget Cycle, C2026-0283): That Council rise and report.

For (100%)

Calgary City Council, item 12.2.1 (May 26 Update on the 2027-2030 Budget Cycle, C2026-0283): That with respect to Confidential Report C2026-0283, the following be adopted, after amendment: That Council: - Use the preliminary information and approach outlined to guide Administration’s refinement and prioritization of budget proposals for further consideration later in the 2027–2030 budget cycle; - Direct that this report, Closed Meeting discussions, and Confidential Attachments remain conf…

For (100%)

Calgary City Council, item 12.2.1 (May 26 Update on the 2027-2030 Budget Cycle, C2026-0283): That with respect to Confidential Report C2026-0283, the following be adopted, after amendment: That Council: - Direct Administration to increase the target revenue for ENMAX Local Access Fees and ATCO Franchise Fees each year by estimated growth and further increase ATCO Franchise Fees by $25 million in 2027.

For (80%)
Against (20%)