Canada Groceries and Essentials Benefit Act

Summary#

Bill C-19, the Canada Groceries and Essentials Benefit Act, would amend the federal Income Tax Act. Its stated goal is to increase the maximum annual Goods and Services Tax/Harmonized Sales Tax credit (GSTC) amounts: by 50% for the 2025–2026 benefit year, and by 25% for five years beginning in 2026–2027. These are proposed changes; the supplied material does not establish that they are in force.

  • For January 2026, eligible people who file an income tax return would get an additional GSTC amount, calculated using their 2024 tax-year information and their family and dependant circumstances.
  • From July 2026 to April 2031, eligible people would receive GSTC amounts in scheduled quarterly months. In those months, the existing GSTC amount under the amended provision would be nil and the new calculation would apply instead.
  • The amounts depend on family circumstances and adjusted income; the formulas reduce payments as adjusted income rises above specified thresholds.
  • The bill provides a special calculation for shared-custody parents and adds inflation adjustment for specified amounts for taxation years beginning after 2026.
  • The bill changes a tax-credit payment. It does not make the payment conditional on buying groceries or essentials.

What it means for you#

  • People eligible for the GSTC: You would need to file an income tax return for the relevant taxation year to qualify for these proposed payments. The amount would depend on the bill’s formulas, including your adjusted income and household circumstances.
  • Shared-custody parents: A special formula would apply if you meet the bill’s reference to the Income Tax Act definition of a shared-custody parent.
  • Taxpayers generally: The bill does not change GST/HST tax rates or create a new independent agency. It uses the Income Tax Act’s tax-payment rules, including rules allowing the Minister to determine or redetermine amounts.
  • The supplied bill text does not include the full Income Tax Act, so I could not verify the existing GSTC rules or all eligibility definitions against current law.

Money#

The supplied material gives no estimate of the public cost.

  • The bill would provide additional or increased tax-credit payments, but gives no total spending estimate.
  • It sets payment formulas and dates, but no separate appropriation or administrative cost estimate is included.
  • It does not specify fees or fines.

What is unclear#

  • The supplied material does not state the bill’s current parliamentary status or provide a general commencement rule.
  • The payment rules rely on Income Tax Act terms such as “eligible individual,” “adjusted income” and “qualified dependant.” Their full definitions and the existing GSTC rules are not included here.
  • The material does not explain how the new payments would interact with any other benefits or programs.
  • It provides no estimate of how many people would qualify, the total cost, or the administrative resources required.

Case for#

  • The bill appears intended to increase GSTC support for eligible people, using a tax credit that already depends on income and household circumstances.
  • A possible argument for using these formulas is that they vary amounts according to dependants and adjusted income, rather than setting one amount for everyone.
  • The scheduled payments could provide support at several points over five years, while the January 2026 calculation provides a separate one-time payment.

Case against#

  • One concern is that the formulas and their links to existing tax-law definitions may make it hard for people to know what they would receive from the supplied text alone.
  • The bill does not provide a cost estimate, so readers cannot assess the proposed payments’ total public cost from this material.
  • It is unclear how the changes would fit with other benefits or programs, or what administrative resources would be needed.
Loading versions…Read this official publication

Summary matches the latest captured text

Summary version: Royal Assent · 2026-02-12

Last source check:

Read the latest official text

How the text changed

Loading versions…