Tuition cap removed for digital learning

Summary#

Senate Bill 1452 amends a provision in the fiscal year 2027 appropriation for the Idaho Digital Learning Academy (IDLA). It removes a $40-per-enrollment limit on tuition IDLA charges Idaho school districts and charter schools; its stated goal is to direct state-appropriated funds to specified IDLA services.

  • IDLA must use state-appropriated funds for the period July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, to provide remedial coursework for students who do not meet proficiency in one or more areas of Idaho’s standards-based tests.
  • IDLA must also provide advanced opportunities, including dual-credit courses, under State Board of Education rules.
  • The provision no longer sets a maximum tuition charge of $40 per enrollment. It does not set a new price or require IDLA to raise tuition.
  • The listed services do not exclude IDLA from providing other instruction and training.

What it means for you#

  • School districts and charter schools: The bill removes the $40-per-enrollment ceiling on tuition IDLA charges them for that fiscal year. They could face higher charges if IDLA sets them, but the bill does not require an increase.
  • Students: The bill continues to direct state-appropriated funds toward remedial coursework and advanced opportunities, including dual credit. It does not create a new student application or approval process.
  • IDLA and state government: IDLA must use the specified state funds toward the listed services. The bill does not create a new agency or a general tuition-pricing system.

Money#

No cost estimate is available in the supplied material.

  • The bill changes how the FY2027 appropriation provision directs IDLA to use state funds, but the supplied text gives no appropriation amount.
  • Removing the tuition cap could allow IDLA to charge districts or charter schools more, but it does not require a price increase or state what any new charge would be.
  • The bill does not state a new fee, fine, or tax.

What is unclear#

  • The supplied text’s heading refers to Senate Bill 1362, while the operative section says it amends House Bill 1362. The parent measure and its full funding terms could not be verified from the material provided.
  • The bill does not say what tuition IDLA may charge after the $40 limit is removed, or whether another limit applies.
  • It does not provide the appropriation amount or explain how much funding goes to each listed service.
  • The details of remedial coursework and advanced opportunities depend in part on rules or other provisions not included here.

Case for#

  • Removing the tuition ceiling could give IDLA more room to set charges that reflect its costs. The bill does not explain whether this is the reason for the change.
  • The bill retains directions to use state-appropriated funds for remedial coursework and advanced opportunities, including dual credit.
  • The text leaves IDLA able to provide other instruction and training, rather than limiting it to the listed services.

Case against#

  • Without a replacement cap or pricing rules in the bill, districts and charter schools may have less certainty about tuition costs.
  • The bill does not explain how a change in tuition might affect district or charter budgets, or how IDLA would set charges.
  • The appropriation amount and how funds would be divided among services are not stated in the supplied text.

Votes

Senate Third Reading

For (83%)
Against (17%)