Summary#
Bill 38, the Appropriations Act 2026-2027, is a first-reading bill that would authorize spending from New Brunswick’s Consolidated Fund for the fiscal year from April 1, 2026, to March 31, 2027. It does not create a new program or change an existing benefit, tax, or offence. Its purpose is to pay public-service expenses that are not otherwise provided for.
If passed, the bill would:
- Authorize up to $14.544 billion in total spending, loans, and advances.
- Authorize $13.041 billion through the ordinary account and special operating agency account.
- Authorize $1.351 billion through the capital account, which covers capital spending such as infrastructure and other assets.
- Authorize $152.324 million in loans and advances through Agriculture, Aquaculture and Fisheries; the New Brunswick Housing Corporation; Opportunities New Brunswick; and Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour.
- Require that the money be paid and used only in accordance with the votes in the 2026-2027 Main Estimates and Capital Estimates.
- Cover major public services, including Health at $4.801 billion, Education and Early Childhood Development at $2.231 billion, Social Development at $2.012 billion, and Transportation and Infrastructure at $1.492 billion across its ordinary and capital accounts.
The bill is not yet law. Both supplied versions are labelled first reading. No amendment material was supplied, so there is no established amendment to distinguish from the original text.
What it means for you#
- New Brunswick residents: The bill would provide the legal authority for the provincial government to spend on public services during the 2026-2027 fiscal year. It does not itself set the details of health, education, housing, social assistance, transportation, or other services.
- Patients, students, families, and people receiving social services: The bill lists large amounts for the departments responsible for these services, but it does not directly change eligibility, benefit amounts, service standards, applications, or appeals.
- Businesses and organizations: The bill authorizes loans and advances, including up to $50 million for Opportunities New Brunswick. The bill does not state who would qualify, how applications would work, what terms would apply, or whether all of the authorized amount would be lent.
- Homeowners, tenants, and housing providers: Up to $259.938 million is authorized for the New Brunswick Housing Corporation’s ordinary account, $77.817 million for its capital account, and $3.224 million for loans and advances. The bill itself does not create a housing benefit, build a particular project, or change housing rules.
- Government departments and agencies: They may spend only within the approved votes and limits in the Main Estimates and Capital Estimates. The bill authorizes spending; it does not require every listed amount to be spent.
- Taxpayers: The bill permits money to be taken from the Consolidated Fund. It does not itself change tax rates, introduce a fee, impose a fine, or state how the spending will be financed.
Money#
The bill authorizes up to $14.544 billion for the 2026-2027 fiscal year, but no separate cost estimate is provided.
- Ordinary and special operating agency spending: $13.041 billion.
- Capital spending: $1.351 billion.
- Loans and advances: $152.324 million.
- The amounts are maximum authorities, not a statement that every dollar will be spent.
- The supplied material contains no estimate of administrative costs, staffing costs, savings, revenue, or repayment of the loans and advances.
What is unclear#
- The bill does not list the individual programs, projects, contracts, or services that make up each department’s amount. Those details are said to be in the Main Estimates and Capital Estimates, which were not supplied.
- It is unclear how much of each authorized amount will actually be spent during the fiscal year.
- The bill does not explain the eligibility rules, application process, repayment terms, or oversight for the authorized loans and advances.
- The bill does not state whether any amounts may be transferred between votes or departments.
- The supplied text does not identify any reporting, audit, or public review process created specifically by this bill.
- Passage is uncertain because the bill is shown only at first reading.
Case for#
- A possible argument for the bill is that the government needs annual legal authority to withdraw money from the Consolidated Fund for public services and approved capital spending.
- The bill places an overall limit on the amount that may be paid and ties spending to the votes in the Main Estimates and Capital Estimates.
- Listing amounts by department and account can make the planned allocation of public money clearer than spending authority stated only in general terms.
- The separate authority for loans and advances identifies money that may be provided as financing rather than ordinary operating expenditure.
Case against#
- The bill authorizes a very large amount, but the bill itself does not show the individual programs, projects, or decisions behind the departmental totals.
- Because the amounts are maximum authorities, the bill does not by itself show how much will actually be spent or what results the spending will produce.
- The loan and advance authorities may allow significant public financing, but the bill does not set out eligibility rules, repayment terms, or project-level oversight.
- A reader cannot assess the effect on particular services from this bill alone because the supplied material does not include the Main Estimates or Capital Estimates on which the schedule is based.
- The bill does not itself create a new benefit or service, so its passage would authorize funding but would not, by its text alone, guarantee any particular outcome for residents.